I choose to read To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee instead of my DREAM BOOK, A Song for you by Robyn crawford.

I want to read Robyn’s Memoir so bad…🤧. But it looks like the most interesting thing in my life right now🤧🤧🤧. I want to preserve it, save it, own it, box it and importantly, love it with all my heart ♥. I will read 📖 it next 😔.

Before I start any review, I must state that;

Such persons as Atticus does not exist. This character is much too perfect. Even George isn’t this calm and collected and sweet and less angry 😡. My hubby George has been picking on me for a while, making me angry and getting angry at me. I am no longer on speaking terms with him. I am keeping malice 😾.


Mrs. Dubose; a fowl-mouthed woman who enjoys throwing insults, even after her death, Atticus had kind words to give. How can someone be so selfless and kind?

I’ve heard a great deal about this book, to Kill a Mockingbird. Reading 📖, Kathryn Stockett’s The Help Aibileen requested for To Kill a Mockingbird from Ms Skeeter. It was banned at Black libraries and illegal for Blacks to read 📖.

That aroused my interest to read 📖 it.

I faltered in the first chapter of To Kill a Mockingbird 🤦🏾‍♀️. On Mother Nature, I was uninterested as fuck.

Googling here and there for an idea on what the book was about to charge my interest.
Then I encountered a ray of hope, Harper Lee was a womxn😅.

Towards the end of chapter one, I received another revelation, the narrator was a female 😅. 

Harper Lee is also humorous in her writing ☺️. These were building steps.

I am glad, I and Mockingbird begun getting along just fine🤝🏾.


Miss Caroline telling the narrator (whose name we are not then sure of but guessed then was Jeane) to stop writing because it isn’t expected of first graders to write till they get to third grade is a semblance of our society towards the upbringing of a human. We teach our children obedience instead of curiosity. We forced children to conform, follow the crowd instead to form thoughts for themselves.

Miss Muadie through chastening of the footwashing Baptists made me realised, Religion is a strong shield for women hate game. This is a reason why I can never be religious. Even Janism and Wicca which I was told are the most Liberal and tolerant religion for womxn, during my research on Wiccan I discovered out of the three deities (two gods and a goddess), the male are the most dominant. How can a he be the supreme being of witchcraft?? Nonsense. I didn’t need to research about Jainism to know their figurehead was male.


In teens, when the sense of belonging overrules your individuality. You craving to belong somewhere, to be part of something bigger than you. The feeling of loneliness roars deep and you wish to belong. I had a cousin whom I followed along with his friends, we were all supposed to go somewhere. But he stopped, and asked I go back. This journey was for the ‘boys’. Some of the boys didn’t agree with his decision but I was a girl and his relative so… that incident still stuck by me.


I get excited by those who stand up for the right things regardless how hard it might be. Standing up for just against friends and foe, publicly declaring your stand to things. May I get to do what’s right even if it doesn’t favour me 🙏🏾.



Why reasonable people go stark raving mad when anything involving a Negro comes up, is something I don’t pretend to understand…

Why reasonable people go stark raving mad when anything involving gender equality comes up, is something I don’t pretend to understand… I draw analogy from racism to gender. People believe men are superior to womxn. People believe whites are superior to blacks.


If clergymen don’t preach misogyny, services won’t hold that day. Was Harper Lee a man, she won’t have pointed this out. Men are perfect in the eyes of men 🙂.  That’s why I believe that male writers are good for and should be read by men.





I got to the part of the court case in To Kill a Mockingbird and honestly, I was not impressed 😏. 

Tom Robinson doesn’t have one iota of sense in his head. Na coconut dey im head. How can you go in to help a white girl whom you have been acquainted with for over a year, ALONE inside a room? How can you remain comfortable after she had told you, she sent the children away to buy ice-cream and she saved money up for the reason? How can you NOT be alarmed after the door she claimed to be faulty was just fine?


This is the difference between being female and being male.

Rape, sexual abuse is wom101, you are taught from birth as a female.

As soon as a man calls you in, to his compound which suddenly is alone and he informs you, he sent everyone away, the singing song that goes into your head is… AWAY. You RUN!!!


Men do not suffer sexual abuse the way womxn do because men are mostly, 99.9% the abusers, the rapists. Even a day old and months old female babies aren’t spared by these people.

So I am not surprised Tom Robinson could relax around Mayella without reading the room.



My favourite character in the book is the narrator, Jean Louise (Scout). Unlike her father, Atticus whom Ewell could approach, spit on his face, threatened to kill him, curse him with vulgar names and try to engage him in a fight. Only for him to end it up “Too proud to fight, you nigger-lovin‘ bastard?” With “No, too old,” put his hands in his pockets and gaited away.

Scout fought. My favourite parts are where her brother threatened to spank her if she continued to trouble Aunt Alexandra, she immediately rushed him and they fought. Even after he punched her hard at the belly, she continued still fighting him until their father separated them.


And also, the scene she defiantly told her brother, Jem and Reverend Sykes “ _I most certainly do, I c’n understand anything you can._”  when he pointed out that she doesn’t understand the case that was going on in court. She was only 8 years old.

Reminds me of my younger sister who is going to 8 by May and stopped attending meetings of Jehovah’s witness because she hates it.

I hate movies. Here’s the movie telling us a totally different story from what the  book stated about the narrator’s first time meeting Mr Arthur ‘Boo’ Radley just like they desecrated Alice Walker’s masterpiece *The Colour purple* . Movies are for enjoyment, books are for reflection. I prefer books 📚. Anytime. I’d be watching the 1900s movie of to kill a Mockingbird though. Also that of the colour purple. Recent movies are too fake for my liking. To good books 🍸, may we always find them to read them.

One of the reviews in current book 📙, Falconer by John Cheever stated that 20-30 minutes into reading 📖, the reader would be overwhelmed. I’ve read for over an hour, and I am yet to find anything fascinating or captivating. The picture is taken at my stand where I sat, cross-legged and forcing myself to read 📖 the trash.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started